Gymnastics Australia announces members of its Athletes’ Commission

Gymnastics Australia is pleased to announce the following appointments to its Athletes’ Commission for the 2022 – 2024 cycle.

  • Millie Hulst representing Acrobatics Gymnastics
  • Deborah Greenbaum representing Aerobics Gymnastics
  • Philip Stewart representing Men’s Artistic Gymnastics
  • Alexandra Eedle representing Rhythmic Gymnastics
  • Kira Ward representing Trampoline Gymnastics
  • Maddi Leydin representing Women’s Artistic Gymnastics

The Athletes' Commission is an athlete-led and managed group with the purpose to promote open and clear communication with current High Performance athletes across all competitive gymsports. 

Gymnastics Australia CEO, Kitty Chiller AM said the Athletes’ Commission will play an important role in helping to shape the direction of the sport by providing guidance and advice to senior management through the lens of an athlete.

“On behalf of the Gymnastics Australia Board and our high performance team, we look forward to working with all members of the Athletes’ Commission. The voice of the athlete is essential to ensure that our high performance activities are athlete centred with an empowered athlete voce providing input.” said Chiller.

Welcoming the new members of the Committee, newly appointed Athletes’ Commission Chair, Georgia Wheeler noted the importance of having a diverse Commission and is looking forward to getting started in 2022.

“Each of the new members joining the Athletes Commission have unique skills and experience and will be able to bring a different and valuable perspective,” Wheeler said.

“As a result, I am confident that over the next cycle the Commission will be able to collaborate and work with key stakeholders to promote cultural change and to ensure the athletes are at the forefront of decision making at every level.”

Congratulation to the successful members.