Tokyo quota spots up for grabs on the Gold Coast

The Gold Coast is set to witness more than the impossible in just under a week, as Australia’s best gymnasts ascend on the Gold Coast Sport Leisure Centre, vying for the title of Australian Champion. 

This year’s event will also see Gymnastics Australia again host the Oceania Continental Championships, where Australia’s Senior Men’s and Women’s Artistic, Rhythmic and Trampoline gymnasts will compete against traditional rivals New Zealand aiming to secure one of the final Olympic quota places for Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games 

Competition will see three individuals and one group earn themselves a valuable quota spot for the Games. 

The highest ranked All-Around gymnast in Men’s and Women’s Artistic and Rhythmic Gymnastics will be awarded a quota position, while the winning rhythmic group on achieving the performance eligibility criteria will also earn a quota.

Taking place on the Gold Coast for the first time, Gymnastics Australia’s National Performance Director Andrew Logan said this year’s championships provided athletes with much needed competition after a long break in 2020. 

“Our athletes have prepared themselves as best as possible during a challenging period and now look forward to competing to earn the final Olympic quota. 

“This year’s Australian Championships comes at a great time as we inch closer to Tokyo and it provides a unique opportunity for our athletes to really see where they are at,” Logan said. 

Congratulations to the following athletes who were selected into the respective teams. 

Men's Artistic Gymnastics 
Jesse Moore
Mitchell Morgans
Clay Mason Stephens
Michael Tone
Kiplin Smith (Reserve)

Women's Artistic Gymnastics
Emily Whitehead
Georgia-Rose Brown
Breanna Scott
Kate McDonald
Macy Pegoli (Reserve)

Trampoline Gymnastics

Blake Rutherford
Dominic Clarke
Shaun Swadling
Aiden Thomas
Claire Arthur
Kira Ward
Jessica Pickering
Imogen Florian

Rhythmic Gymnastics
Alexandra Kiroi-Bogatyreva
Lidiia Iakovleva
Ashari Gill

Emily Abbot
Alexandra Eedle
Alannah Mathews
Himeka Onoda
Alexandra Aristoteli
Felicity White